Want in on the ACTION? 

Early Bird Bingo 6:00pm
Regular Bingo 6:30pm
$20 = 15 games of 6 cards each
$250 Payout per Game!

Come in and work the kitchen for BINGO - have some fun and meet the teams. Contact Pam Mackay 949-859-6426. We can use YOUR help!

Congratulations to our
Elk of the Month
for November 2018

Stuart Urquhart

Congratulations go to our 2017-2018
Award Winners :

Elk of the Year
Dennis Boelts

Citizen of the Year
Ron Eger

Officer of the Year
Frank Scarpine

Previous Winners
Past Exalted Rulers
Past Elks of the Year

Join the ELKS

Promote Patriotism, Honesty and the American Way of Life.
Gives you a place to give back to your community while having fun doing it.
Help children in need have better lives through ELKS many events and projects.
Join the ELKS
Call 949-830-3557

BPOE West Coast History
Click Here

BPOE Mission Statement
New Members

Mission Calls Bulletin
Events > Other Activities > Hoop Shoot

Hoop Shoot

December 6, 2015

2016 Hoop Shoot conducted by Mission Viejo-Saddleback Valley Elks Lodge #2444
December 6, 2015
Feature and Photography by Mike Long

Boys and girls, ages 8 to 13, from the Mission Viejo/Saddleback Valley area participated in the Elks Lodge Hoop Shoot competitions on Dec 6, 2015.  Daniel Hernandez, Hoop Shoot Director, and his committee from Mission Viejo/Saddleback ValleyElks Lodge #2444, enthusiastically welcomed all kids and parents to the basketball gymnasium at Mission Viejo High School.

Competitors making the most free throws in their group were declared winners of the Elks Hoop Shoot for Elks Lodge #2444.  These winners are now eligible to compete at the Elks Hoop Shoot for Elks District #960.  Elks District #960 will be conducting their Elks Hoop Shoot competitions at Elks Lodge #794 Santa Ana on January 16, 2016.

Mission Viejo-Saddleback Valley Elks Lodge #2444 will be represented in the Elks District Hoop Shoot by five very competitive Hoop Shooters.  Winner in boys age-group 12/13 is Ethan Brown, 12, of Mission Viejo; he attends Del Cerro Elementary.  Winner in boys 10/11 is Clayton Morisset, 11, of Mission Viejo; he attends De Portola Elementary.  Winner in girls 10/11 is Sara Asad, 10, of Ranch Santa Margarita; she attends Robinson Elementary.  Winner in boys 8/9 is Dmitri Pappas, 9, of Lake Forest; he attends Cordillera Elementary.  Winner in girls 8/9 is Nicole Dizon, 9, of Ranch Santa Margarita; she attends Trabuco Mesa Elementary.  

Congratulations to these great kids and their parents and good luck to them in the next round of competition.  Thanks to all kids and parents for their participation in the Elks Hoop Shoot competitions for Mission Viejo-Saddleback Valley Elks Lodge #2444.

In conducting the Elks Hoop Shoot competition, the Elks Lodge #2444 Hoop Shoot committee contacted more than thirty area schools and the local chapter of the National Junior Basketball (NJB).  Daniel Hernandez of Elks Lodge #2444 extends a warm and heartfelt thank you to these gracious and dedicated school and NJB administrators for their help in advertising the Elks Hoop Shoot program to the kids in the Mission Viejo-Saddleback Valley area. 

The Elks Hoop Shoot program provides youth across the United States an opportunity to compete at Elks Hoop Shoots in their local area.  Elks Lodge Hoop Shoot winners are eligible to compete at their Elks District Hoop Shoot.  Competitions proceed in like fashion from District to State, then from State to Regional.  Elks Regional Hoop Shoot winners are eligible to compete at the Elks Hoop Shoot National Finals in Chicago, IL held on April 14-17, 2016.  The six national winners each receive a trophy and their names are inscribed on a plaque at the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in Springfield, Massachusetts.

The Elks National Foundation will coordinate and cover expenses of transportation, housing and food to the Elks Hoop Shoot National Finals for the winners of each Elks Hoop Shoot Regional and their parents/guardians. 

February 7, 2015

Mission Viejo Elks Shines at Hoop Shoot

Mission Viejo Saddleback Valley Elks Lodge #2444 was well represented by three very talented Mission Viejo hoopsters at the 2015 State Hoop Shoot contest.  This Elks Southern California competition was held at Paramount Park Gym on Saturday Feb. 7.  In the boys 12 to 13 year old group, Tyler Yamaguchi from Las Flores Middle School, took 3rd place with 19 shots made out of 25 attempts.  In the boys 10 to 11 year old group, Jake Woodall from De Portola Elementary school, took 4th place with 17 shots made.  In the boys 8 to 9 year old group, Tyler Kelly from De Portola Elementary, took 4th place with 17 shots made.  

Each age group was represented by 10 hoop shooters.  Each competitor is a first place winner at Elks Hoop Shoot competitions conducted for boys and girls at both Lodge and District levels.  First place winners of Elks State Hoop Shoot competitions typically make at least 21 of their 25 free throw attempts.  This is a very competitive and successful group of young people!

Hoop Shoot Director Daniel Hernandez of Mission Viejo, Saddleback Valley Elks Lodge #2444 congratulates these exceptional young people as shining examples of what can be accomplished by hard work and dedication.  Not surprising, all of these boys love the game of basketball and are great gentlemen on and off the court.


Elks Care!  Elks Share!

November 8, 2014
A fun day was had by all at the Elks Hoop Shoot Contest at Mission Viejo High School.

During the daily events, many were treated to a tie breaker between the top two contestants in the Boys 12-13 age division.  Tyler Yamaguchi and Cole Ellison, two outstanding free throw shooters, were tied after their 25 shots, and required 5 more shots to break the tie.

Daniel Hernandez, Hoop Shoot Lodge Director, would like to thank the following volunteers for all of their hard work and dedication.  Hoop Shoot Committee:  Mike Long, Lloyd Bryan, Brenda Rehnke, Barbara King, very special thanks to Carol Bryan who worked with me side by side and Exalted Ruler, Derek Randles, for support and buying lunch for the team.  Thanks to volunteers Dottie White, Carol Feldman, Carter Ellison, Adam Hernandez and Laura Lumley. Special thanks to Bill and Stephanie Bongartz for their donation of very nice certificates for this event and for Bill's advice.  Finally, thanks to Dennis Lumley as an advisor and a talented photographer.